Manuel Sanchez

Doña Ana County Board Members
Title: Chair, District 5 Commissioner
Phone: 575-525-5809


Manuel Sanchez was appointed to the commission seat in District 5 on March 28, 2019. He will serve the remainder of the term vacated by Karen Trujillo, who was appointed to serve a cabinet position under the administration of New Mexico Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham.

Commissioner Sanchez is originally from Anthony but grew up in El Paso. He was part of the first graduating class of Franklin High School and went to his "dream school" at MIT to study aerospace. Sanchez quickly discovered his love of mechanical engineering and after graduation in 2001, landed a position with General Electric. He lives in the North Valley with his wife and three daughters.

District 5 encompasses a portion of northwestern Las Cruces and extends north to the Sierra County line, taking in all or part of the communities in Doña Ana, Radium Springs, Leasburg, Hatch, Salem and Garfield.


Return to Staff Directory